Find us on Facebook!



Posted on 29th December 2011 at 09:00

While last-minute work continues on Legislative district lines, the Washington Redistricting Commission is announcing that agreement has been reached on the boundaries for the state’s Congressional districts. The 3rd Congressional District will have some significant changes, removing most of Thurston County and placing that area in the state’s new 10th District. On the map released yesterday, the 3rd District would also pick up all of Klickitat County, with only a tiny sliver of Thurston County near Rochester remaining in the 3rd. All of Cowlitz, Wahkiakum, Clark, Lewis, Skamania and Pacific Counties would also be in the 3rd District, with the new 10th District being comprised of portions of Thurston, Mason and Pierce Counties. Other districts getting major changes include the 1st and 9th; the 9th would become the state’s first “majority-minority” district, meaning that its population would be comprised mostly of people of color. Once approved by the bi-partisan Redistricting Commission, the proposal will be sent to the Legislature for final approval. Under state law, they could only make minor adjustments, only after getting a supermajority vote to do so. The Redistricting Commission has only a few more days to get its work done, as these alterations need to be in place by January 1st. Otherwise, the state Supreme Court would take over the task.